MRA announces ‘Friend of Retail’ candidate designations and endorsements

LANSING – Michigan Retailers Association (MRA) today announced the designation of 71 legislative candidates in the August 2 primary who are considered a “Friend of Retail” and deserve member support.

The designations were approved by the Association’s Legislative Committee and are based on an analysis of voting records and candidate questionnaires. The highest scoring candidates also received outright endorsements.

“These Friends of Retail have demonstrated through their votes on key issues and their answers to critical policy questions that they understand the importance of the retail industry to Michigan’s economy,” said James P. Hallan, MRA president and CEO.

“We look forward to working with them to continue to make job-creating improvements in Michigan’s retail business climate.”

Receiving MRA endorsements in the House of Representatives races are incumbents:

  • Chris Afendoulis (R-73), Grand Rapids Township
  • Laura Cox (R-19), Livonia
  • Daniela Garcia (R-90), Holland
  • Tom Leonard (R-93), DeWitt Township
  • Jason Sheppard (R-56), Temperance
  • Rob VerHeulen (R-74), Walker

The others receiving Friend of Retail designations are:


Tom Barrett (R-71), Potterville

John Bizon (R-62), Battle Creek

Edward Canfield (R-84), Sebewaing

Lee Chatfield (R-107), Levering

Triston Cole (R-103), Mancelona

Kathy Crawford (R-38), Novi

Gary Glenn (R-98), Larkin Township

Joseph Graves (R-51), Argentine Township

Holly Hughes (R-91), Montague

Brandt Iden (R-61), Kalamazoo

Larry Inman (R-104), Williamsburg

Tim Kelly (R-94), Saginaw

Klint Kesto (R-39), Commerce Township

Dan Lauwers (R-81), Brockway

Eric Leutheuser (R-58), Hillsdale

Frank Liberati (D-13), Allen Park

Michael McCready (R-40), Birmingham

Aaron Miller (R-59), Sturgis

Dave Pagel (R-78), Berrien Springs

Phil Phelps (D-49), Flushing

Brett Roberts (R-65), Charlotte

Andy Schor (D-68), Lansing

Jim Tedder (R-43), Clarkston

Lana Theis (R-42), Brighton Township

Roger Victory (R-88), Hudsonville

Michael Webber (R-45), Rochester Hills

Mary Whiteford (R-80), Casco Township

Henry Yanez (D-25), Sterling Heights



District     1 Pamela Sossi (D-Detroit)

District   15 Terrance Gerin (R-Dearborn)

District   15 Paul Sophiea (R-Dearborn)

District   17 Joseph Bellino Jr. (R-Monroe)

District   20 Jeffery Neilson (R-Northville)

District   20 Chris Roosen (R-Northville)

District   23 Bob Howey (R-Trenton)

District   24 Steve Marino (R-Harrison Township)

District   25 Ronald Albers (R-Sterling Heights)

District   26 Randy LeVasseur (R-Royal Oak)

District   30 Diana Farrington (R-Utica)

District   32 Pamela Hornberger (R-Chesterfield Township)

District   33 Charles Karafa (R-Macomb)

District   33 Mel Koch (R-Macomb)

District   52 Randy Clark (R-Salem)

District   57 Bronna Kahle (R-Adrian)

District   64 Julie Alexander (R-Hanover)

District   66 Greg Kolich (R-Kalamazoo)

District   67 Leon Clark (R-Mason)

District   70 James Lower (R-Cedar Lake)

District   75 Tommy Brann (R-Wyoming)

District   79 Kim LaSata (R-Saint Joseph)

District   83 Justin Faber (R-Deckerville)

District   83 Matt Muxlow (R-Brown City)

District   85 Hartmann Aue (R-Owosso)

District   85 Ben Frederick (R-Owosso)

District   86 Thomas Albert (R-Belding)

District   86 Jeff Johnson (R-Grand Rapids)

District   97 Jason Wentworth (R-Clare)

District   99 Roger Hauck (R-Mt Pleasant)

District   99 Robin Stressman (R-Mt Pleasant)

District 100 Scott VanSingel (R-Grant)

District 100 John Wilterink (R-Newaygo)

District 101 Curt VanderWall (R-Ludington)

District 101 Mark Walter (R-Traverse City)

District 106 Sue Allor (R-Wolverine)

District 106 Jackie Krawczak (R-Alpena)


Michigan Retailers Association represents more than 5,000 member businesses and their more than 15,000 stores and websites in Michigan. Retail is directly responsible for more than 850,000 jobs in Michigan’s economy, and more than 18 percent of Michigan’s total economic activity (GDP) comes from the retail sector.