Michigan Retailers announces 2020 Friends of Retail

LANSING, Mich. – Michigan Retailers Association today announced the designation of 68 legislative candidates for the Nov. 3 general election who are considered a “Friend of Retail” and have earned the association members’ support.

MRA’s Friends of Retail designations were approved by the Association’s Legislative Committee and are based on an analysis of voting records and candidate questionnaires. Current elected officials earning a Friend of Retail designation demonstrated through their votes on and sponsorship of key issues, while candidates earning a Friend of Retail designation have demonstrated through their answers to critical policy questions that they understand the importance of the retail industry to Michigan’s economy.


District 1                Tenisha Yancey (D-Harper Woods)

District 1                Gregory Creswell (L-Detroit)

District 2                Joe Tate (D-Detroit)

District 9                Karen Whitsett (D-Detroit)

District 11             James Townsend (R-Garden City)

District 13             Tullio Liberati (D-Allen Park)

District 17             Joe Bellino Jr. (R-Monroe)

District 18             Michael Babat (R-Eastpointe)

District 19             Martha Ptashnik (R-Livonia)

District 20             John Lacny (R-Canton)

District 21             Laurel Hess (R-Canton)

District 23             John Poe (R-New Boston)

District 24             Steve Marino (R-Mount Clemens)

District 28             Frederick Horndt (L-Warren)

District 30             Diana Farrington (R-Utica)

District 34             James Miraglia (R-Flint)

District 36             Doug Wozniak (R-Shelby Twp.)

District 38             Chase Turner (R-Northville)

District 39             Ryan Berman (R-Commerce Twp.)

District 40             Kendra Cleary (R-Bloomfield Twp.)

District 42             Ann Bollin (R-Brighton)

District 43             Andrea Schroeder (R-Independence Twp.)

District 44             Matt Maddock (R-Milford)

District 45             Mark Tisdel (R-Rochester)

District 47             Robert J. Bezotte (R-Howell)

District 48             David Martin (R-Davison)

District 53             Jean Holland (R-Ann Arbor)

District 54             Martin A. Church (R-Ypsilanti)

District 57             Bronna Kahle (R-Clinton)

District 58             Andrew Fink (R-Hillsdale)

District 61             Bronwnyn Haltom (R-Kalamazoo)

District 62             Dave Morgan (R-Battle Creek)

District 63             Matt Hall (R-Marshall)

District 64             Julie Alexander (R-Hanover)

District 65             Sarah Lightner (R-Springport)

District 66             Beth Griffin (R-Mattawan)

District 67             Nate J. Ross (R-Mason)

District 70             Pat Outman (R-Six Lakes)

District 71             Gina Johnsen (R-Lansing)

District 74             Mark Huizenga (R-Walker)

District 76             Doug Zandstra (R-Grand Rapids)

District 77             Tommy Brann (R-Wyoming)

District 78             Brad Paquette (R-Niles)

District 79             Pauline Wendzel (R-Coloma)

District 80             Mary Whiteford (R-South Haven)

District 81             Gary Eisen (R-Saint Clair Township)

District 83             Andrew Beeler (R-Port Huron)

District 84             Phil Green (R-Millington)

District 85             Ben Frederick (R-Owosso)

District 87             Julie Calley (R-Portland)

District 88             Luke Meerman (R-Coopersville)

District 89             Jim Lilly (R-Macatawa)

District 90             Bradley Slagh (R-Zeeland)

District 91             Greg VanWoerkom (R-Norton Shores)

District 93             Graham Filler (R-DeWitt)

District 94             Rodney Wakeman (R-Saginaw)

District 96             Timothy H. Beson (R-Bay City)

District 97             Jason Wentworth (R-Clare)

District 98             Annette Glenn (R-Midland)

District 99             Roger Hauck (R-Mount Pleasant)

District 100          Scott VanSingel (R-Grant)

District 101          Jack O’Malley (R-Lake Ann)

District 102          Michele Hoitenga (R-Manton)

District 103          Daire Rendon (R-Lake City)

District 104          John R. Roth (R-Traverse City)

District 105          Ken Borton (R-Gaylord)

District 105          Jonathan Burke (D-Gaylord)

District 107          John N. Damoose (R-Harbor Springs)